2003-07-24 + 7:37 p.m.
my guitar and my sweet,sweet fingers

my friend commented on my fingers, he claimed they looked like bb kings. I play the guitar. I do not play the guitar like bb king.

My fingers are long not stubby and the nails on my right hand are longer than on my left, this is on purpose as i play a finger style guitar and use the nails as well as the my finger tips to create different tones, i also use my thumb. On the outside of my thumb i regulary get small blisters from playing my guitar and on the inside of my finger tips i occasionly get blisters also, i used to get a lot more when i played bass guitar in a band, since i havent played live for over 3 years my fingers are healed, although a layer of skin seems to have permenantly hardened up.

I like to play my guitar when im feeling passionate, this can be spured by a number of things, listening to music is a big reason, i may of just heard something that moves me or want to try to work something out, i also like to play late at night, sometimes i will lie on my bed an close my eyes an just fumble along, in the darkness the sound seems to fill the room and the silence becomes just as loud as the music i play it can be quite chilling at times but also serene and very comforting and warm, sometimes i may sing along, i dont normally play songs i have rehearsed but can write lyrics quite quickly when im concentrating.

Although i have played many different styles of music in bands and when i studied it i mainly enjoy finger picking, i find i am lucky in that i have found my own style and realised a lot of my limitations, i used to push myself a lot harder and practice every day but these days im happy with what i can do, if something makes me struggle i just think about it logically and can usually get it worked out within five minutes my fingers are my greatest tool an very versatile.

The music i play tends to be along the styles of folk, classical and flamenco, i play mainly for myself an the intimacay i create, and for my friends, ive found ive become more shy over playing in front of people, but in some ways i like it.

the hardest time for me to play is when im feeling pressured or very depressed, it is ok when im melancholy as it can fit my style well but when i am really depressed the strings feel heavy an mechanical, the instrument doesnt feel part of me, my fingers are stiff and dry.

My guitar is the road to my soul, i like to line the sounds i create with pulsating rythms and complex melody i enjoy the intonation and waves of harmony i create, the guitar sometimes feels part of me and my fingers dont seem to touch the strings as they race through various chords and tones, my guitar is beautiful as are my fingers


this + that

Memory Foam Pillows